Heading to Japan!

May 4, 2009 § 3 Comments




This place looks amazing right? Well, it’s official now…I am definitely going to Japan. I purchased my plane ticket on Friday. I’ll be flying from Phoenix to Los Angeles, Los Angeles to Tokyo, switching airports in Tokyo, Tokyo to Okinawa. I am so excited to be going to Asia for the first time, and to get to spend the two months before law school on this adventure with Bryan. 

One of my goals for the summer is to spend my days helping Bryan put the house together. I want him to be comfortable (and I want me to be comfortable! ) in his new home. So I’ll be setting things up, shopping for him, getting him organized, cooking real meals, etc. I’m excited to a good house-girlfriend for the summer (because I won’t have this opportunity at any time for the next three years!). 
I’m also looking forward to getting back into my daily workouts. Last summer I only had one goal: get in shape. I spent approximately 2 hours a day at the gym and religiously tracked my food intake. I had nothing else on my plate, so it was much easier to keep up with my fitness than it is during the school year. This school year I have been pretty good at going to the gym in the morning (wake up at 4:15 am, at the gym by 5:00 am, back at home to shower by 6:00 am). I am looking forward, though, to having more freedom to spend more than 1 hour in the gym. This will make it easier to actually run AND lift weights, which is very difficult to do in only 1 hour. 
Finally, I’m planning to spend whatever time is left (and it’s going to have to be a lot) studying for law school. When most people hear me say this, they seem confused. How can you study for law school until you get there? I’ve read a book called Planet Law School that details a pretty intense pre-law school preparation program that includes lots of reading, practice briefing, and even a CD program that teaches examsmanship tactics that should hopefully help me get a head start on the notorious first year of law school. I’m not expecting that my summer prep will make the first year easy, I am just hoping to get myself to a place where I am not drowning that first semester, as I have heard from so many other first-year law students. 
So this is the plan for my day-to-day life this summer in Okinawa. Of course, from looking at the pictures I have found online and that Bryan has shown me, there is also so much to see on the island. So I am hoping that Bryan will have enough time on the weekends to go on mini-adventures with me that will remember for the rest of our lives. And anyone who has the travel itch should definitely contact us about visiting this summer! We are hoping to find a place with at least 2, hopefully 3 bedrooms, and 2 bathrooms, so we should have room for guests. 
§ 3 Responses to Heading to Japan!

  • Candice says:

    Jenna, I love blogs! I hope you don’t mind your auntie following your adventures. I will keep your dad up on the latest!Aunt Candice

  • Jenna says:

    Of course I don’t mind! That’s why I’ve started this blog–to keep in touch with everyone while I’m out of Arizona for the next 3 years!

  • Unless you have an amazing memory for all the details of what you read, planet law school summer reading will not help much. The books that he suggests, however, are really useful during finals time or during the semester when you don’t understand a concept or need to review. Don’t worry too much about the steep learning curve in law school, everyone is on the curve with you and I know you’ll be able to rise above it. That’s just some advice from a 2L (or a soon to be 2L).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Heading to Japan! at jump the next train.

meta