Photos from Okinawa

June 24, 2009 § Leave a comment

So my daily schedule here in Okinawa goes something like this: wake up, go with B to the gym on base, come home, shower, and say goodbye to Bryan as he goes to work, read everything I’ve missed on the Internets while I was sleeping (celebrity gossip, news, fb updates, etc.), make the bed/clean up from last night, begin my reading, and read pretty much until Bryan comes home. Bryan sometimes comes home for lunch, and he sometimes picks me up and we go out to lunch, and then he drops me off at the library on base for the rest of the afternoon. Then at night we watch movies rented on base, cook dinner, and try to relax. Even though I’m on vacation, Bryan is not, so we have to save a lot of the touristy/fun stuff for the weekends because he still needs to have energy to work each day.

This batch of pictures is from some of our weekend excursions around Okinawa. There is a small beach right down the street from our house that we have been to twice. We’ve been waiting for the weather to improve for a real “beach day”, and even though this beach is nice in that it is so close, I’m excited to get out of our town (Ishikawa), and explore some of the more renowned beaches, go snorkeling, and see some more of the island. There are also some pictures on here from a short day trip we took to Ikei Island. The island is connected to the big island with a bridge, and is absolutely beautiful. It is very sparsely populated, and has a few hotels, but seemed mostly untouched from what we saw of it. There are a few beaches with recreational areas set up, and I hope to get to get back to Ikei Island soon.

Photobucket
This is a picture of a scary spider on the path to the beach. Turns out, there are a lot of scary spiders here in Okinawa, including many that have made our balcony their hunting ground!
Photobucket
Here I am posing on the beach near our house.
Photobucket
Here is Bryan and me taking a photo of ourselves on the beach near our house.
Photobucket
A better view of the beach near our house…
Photobucket
A picture of a tide pool that Bryan liked. The tide comes in really far, so we have to be careful about when we go to the beach I guess!
Photobucket
This is the beach on Ikei Island. One of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been–I can’t wait to go back and explore more!
Photobucket
So the weather here is VERY humid. My hair makes that fact quite clear, I believe. After seeing this picture, picked up some Frizz Ease, and I’ve been good ever since ๐Ÿ™‚
Photobucket
Okinawan religion is a lot about ancestor worship. These tombs are erected on the property of the family, and they go back to pay their respects, light candles, etc. all the time. It’s amazing to drive around the island and see these everywhere–very haunting, so to speak.
Photobucket
Bryan took a picture of himself while standing on the side of the highway on Ikei Island. So Bryan ๐Ÿ™‚
Photobucket
This is me posing by a rock back at the beach by our house. Notice the lack of bathing suits–either it’s been raining, or we’ve felt like we were too busy for a beach day. I plan to remedy that soon and break in our snorkel gear that’s waiting in the hall!
Photobucket
Another nice view of the beach near our house…and the industrial complex in the background.
Photobucket
This is the same tomb photo, but I think it looks amazing in black and white. It really makes those tree roots stand out as they threaten to overcome the tomb and suck it back into the earth (or at least, that’s what it looks like to me).

More photos of our adventures to come soon!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Photos from Okinawa at jump the next train.

meta