Ch-ch-changes…

August 12, 2009 § Leave a comment


A lot has changed in the last week! Monday, August 3 I bid a tearful goodbye to Bryan, flew from Okinawa to Tokyo to San Francisco to Phoenix. It was really hard to say goodbye to Bryan. This summer was absolutely the best summer of my life. I got to spend every single day with the love of my life in paradise. I was able to rest and relax, while also managing to get in studying and sightseeing around Okinawa. Soon, the law school grind will start and I will look back on my relaxing days in Okinawa nostalgically. More than that, it was so hard to say goodbye to Bryan. The military makes it so that we never know what is going to be sprung on us. We don’t know if or when he will deploy next, and it is possibly (though not completely likely) that he could deploy again very soon, perhaps even before I get to see him next. In addition, we have built this beautiful house in Okinawa, and now Bryan is there alone. I wish I could be two places at once. But, we have Skype, web cam, and the wondrous iPhone to connect us. Life is a marathon, not a sprint, and we were prepared for this.

My flights were fine, though I picked up a cold somewhere along the way that I have since managed to pass to my mom and Stan (stepdad). I got a little studying, a little sleeping, and a little movie-watching done. (By the way, has anyone seen The Boy in the Striped Pajamas? If so, we must discuss the ending, which thoroughly horrified me). I arrived in Phoenix with a to-do list a mile long and mountains of belongings to sort through and fit into suitcases before my Friday flight to Boston.

While in Arizona I managed to fit in a lot. I met up with Katie, Phil, Noah, Lauren, Janessa, and Johnny for one last Tijuana Tuesdays at the Salty Senorita, albeit this time at the Old Town location, as no one lives in Glendale anymore (*tear*). I signed up with AT&T so that I can use Bryan’s iPhone. I had some upgrades done to my Mac to make it law school-ready. I met with a financial planner about rolling my retirement ($11K? Really? Is that possible?) into an IRA. I picked up my kitten from Lauren’s apartment and brought her home to my mom’s house. Now the poor orphan kitten is going to be traveling to San Diego to live with my sister for the semester. That poor cat is probably so traumatized from all the moving, but I promise that as soon as this law school thing is done I will pamper and spoil her silly for the rest of her days. Anyways, I pretty much finished everything I needed to in Arizona, packed my belongings into 5 suitcases, and flew to Boston with my momma. And yes, all of this occurred in less than 1 week’s time. So if you are wondering where I have been with the blogging, this should clear some things up for you. I am now settled in to my apartment in Somerville (on the border of Cambridge). Tomorrow, I will write alllll about my first weekend in Boston…
Now, though, I have errands to run…only 2+ weeks until law school starts!!
Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Ch-ch-changes… at jump the next train.

meta