Adjustments

August 19, 2009 § Leave a comment

So here’s a summary of how may days seem to inevitably go during these dwindling weeks of sumemr: Wake up. Eat breakfast of Greek yogurt and fruit while talking to Bryan on Skype. Spend 2-3 hours doing a combination of talking to Bryan on Skype, chatting with Bryan on Yahoo, facebooking, twittering, and google reader-ing. Feel guilty for not doing anything. Make to-do list. Bravely set out with my iPhone (so I don’t get lost), bike helmet (so I don’t die), and very little money. Get lost, almost killed, and spend too much money. Return home sweaty, thirsty, hungry, and needing to pee. Cancel the rest of my plans for the day due to above. Spend 2-3 hours in the afternoon surfing the net, facebooking, twittering, waiting for Bryan to wake-up, talking to Bryan after he wakes up, and doing a little pre-law school reading (emphasis on little). Feel guilty for not doing anything productive. Decide to cook a healthy yet delicious dinner. Go to Star Market for ingredients. Cook said dinner. Eat while drinking wine. Settle in for the rest of the evening to watch movies on computer while surfing the net, facebooking, twittering, talking to Bryan on some sort of chat mechanism. Go to bed too late, despite previous day’s vow to start going to bed at 10 pm to get my body adjusted to my law school schedule.

Things I would like to change over this and next week: Get some exercise other than getting lost while riding bike. When it’s time to study, disconnect from computer AND iPhone in order to improve focus. Spend less money. Stop getting lost.

This last one will necessitate an abandonment of iPhone Maps and a return to the good, old-fashioned paper map. The iPhone Maps app makes it far too easy to only focus on my next turn, and I’m losting the forest for the trees. I need to develop a big picture in my head of this place, because if I’m going to keep this bike riding thing up I have to stop stopping on every curb to check my iPhone Map and start relying on mental pictures in my brain.

I’d also like to see more of Boston, but it seems that every time I set out to do this, I get end up frustrated, lost, thirsty, hungry, needing to pee, etc. One of my plans once school starts is to choose a coffee shop AWAY from Cambridge each weekend day to go and study at all day. Minus my computer (maybe, depending on what type of studying I have to do). With my iPhone in my backpack. Does anyone know of an app that locks your iPhone so that all you can do is make calls (i.e., no checking email, facebook, and twitter obsessively?).

One more update–the new roomie, Elaine, arrived today, with her adorable mother. I can tell we are going to get along really well. I’m so excited to have someone at home to talk to! Although, I’m a little embarassed to admit, that her first morning in the apartment I spent in my nightgown breaking my record for Skype time with Bryan (over 4 hours…I know, pathetic. If your name rhymes with Yasmine, I apologize for ever making fun of you for anything having to do with a web cam).

Alwso–need to blog more. I always think about writing a blog post, and then decide it will take too much effort/time. But every time I sit down to write, the words just flow out, coherently or not, and I feel much better about whatever is bothering me at the time.

That said, my plan now is to find something in my kitchen to eat for lunch (so as to save money) and study (without the computer in front of me). Chau!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Adjustments at jump the next train.

meta