My Hero

November 11, 2009 § 1 Comment

ALSO I HEARD THE VOICE OF THE LORD, SAYING, WHOM SHALL I SEND, AND WHO WILL GO FOR US? THEN I SAID, HERE AM I; SEND ME.
– ISAIAH 6:8

In honor of Veteran’s Day, this post is dedicated to my own Hero. Bryan enlisted in the Air Force when he was 18 years old. He has served selflessly, humbly, and courageously for 14 years. He has been deployed to the Middle East 6 times, 3 of which were to Iraq. He has sacrificed more than any man should have to. On September 11, as he watched the second plane fly into the tower, he immediately began packing his bags. Within weeks, he was on his way to the Middle East. He has been separated from his loved ones more times than anyone should have to endure, yet if you asked him if he wanted to go back, he would not hesitate before saying yes. He is a true hero, one among many thousands who have given so much to serve their country. I love and honor this man, and all the other men and women like him who would pack their bags today if someone told them they were needed elsewhere tomorrow. Bryan is an incredible father, fiance, son, brother, and human. I am proud just to know him, and I am proud to call him my partner.

Bryan received the Bronze Star for his service in Iraq in 2008-2009. Read about it here.

Bryan in Iraq 2008.


Bryan, joking around at the Pentagon.


Bryan, Iraq 2008.

Bryan and I before the Prom (we were chaperones).

Bryan preparing to fly in an F15 onto the USS George Washington.

Bryan 4+ years ago with baby Hayley. Look at those cheeks!
One of the things I love the most about him is what a loving father he is.

Bryan proposed to me in uniform.
§ One Response to My Hero

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Hero at jump the next train.

meta