Faux News

November 12, 2009 § Leave a comment

This is not a political blog by any means, and truth be told I’ve pretty much ignored politics for the last 3 months, so I am not one to be starting any political discussions/debates, because I’m sure I will get schooled. That said, I couldn’t resist a quick story to accompany a video I came across yesterday:

This past summer that I spent in Okinawa with Bryan was the best summer of my life. I had no job, no obligations, no car…nothing really to do, except relax, prep for law school, and enjoy my time with Bryan.

One of the things we did was try to keep up our early a.m. gym routine. Bryan and I would get up around 5:30 or 6:00 a.m. (a far cry from our 4:30 a.m. wake-up calls when we were in AZ), and I would go with him to the base for PT. While he ran with the rest of the public affairs people, I would go to the gym and run on the treadmill. The treadmills at Kadena were all located upstairs in a hot, humid, stuffy room. There were TVs lining the far wall opposite the treadmills, all pre-tuned to the various Air Force-approved stations. Invariably, one of these TVs was tuned to some overseas version of Fox News, and just based on the time that I was always there, I often had the “privilege” of watching Glenn Beck while I ran. Let me just say, one positive side effect of the anger that filled me after a few minutes of reading the subtitles of Glenn Beck sure did make me run…vigorously. My favorite was the day he used a chalkboard and chalk (he sure seems to be a fan of drawing on a chalkboard…can someone who actually watches this show explain that to me?) to draw a picture of Allah. Now, I don’t know a lot about the religion of Islam, but I’m pretty sure I remember learning in Art History 101 that it’s considered blasphemy to draw/paint/create a picture of Allah. Just sayin’. Anyhoo, I don’t know anything else about him than what I gleaned from my treadmill experiences, and to be honest I’d like to keep it that way. This Daily Show clip sure did make me laugh though! Also, I miss DC.

The Daily Show With Jon Stewart Mon – Thurs 11p / 10c
Sean Hannity Uses Glenn Beck’s Protest Footage
www.thedailyshow.com
Daily Show
Full Episodes
Political Humor Health Care Crisis
Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Faux News at jump the next train.

meta