HLAB

April 17, 2010 § Leave a comment


I just found out some AWESOME news–I have been accepted to the Harvard Legal Aid Bureau! This is seriously a big deal to me. When I learned about this student-run law firm before I even came to HLS, I knew I wanted in. Students in the Bureau take 3-5 cases at a time, family or housing law, and actually appear in real court, like on a weekly basis. Not only is it a huge time commitment, but the members have a very strong bond, which I have really been missing from my activities so far at HLS.

When I got the call, of course I screened out the Atlanta area code. Then I called back and got the girl’s voicemail. As I was in the middle of leaving a voicemail, she called me back and I picked up. When I hung up with her (after getting the amazing news!), I started squealing and dancing around my apartment. Then I realized that my phone had gone back to her voicemail and there is a chance that it recorded my squealing. Oh well–I’m in now!

It’s going to be a serious time commitment. At least 20 hours a week. That means I will only take 8-9 credit hours (2-3 classes). I will have a heavy case load and people’s cases will depend on me. The learning curve is going to be steep, and I’m a little nervous. But so excited! OMG!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading HLAB at jump the next train.

meta