I’m a working girl!

June 4, 2010 § 1 Comment

Just finished my first week of work at my summer legal internship! So far I am loving the job…the people I work with are really dedicated to children’s law, I am already researching some really interesting topics, and today I got to go to court for the first time. One of my favorite things about starting new things is the steep learning curve–I love not knowing anything about an area, and then quickly packing as much knowledge into my head as possible, developing new schema, and piecing together the big picture. I feel like I’m starting to do that regarding children’s law, after just a few days, and it’s exciting. Next week I will start taking intake phone calls–where people with questions about an area of children’s law or who need legal help call our office, and I record their information, send them materials, and possibly present their case at our staff intake meeting to determine if we want to pursue it. These will be mostly education calls, and I won’t be giving real advice, but I think it will be interesting to hear what’s happening to children in schools and seeing if there is anything we can do to help. I got to listen to a few such calls on speakerphone last week, and even though in most cases the intake was closed after the phone call, our intake worker sent almost every caller some information and they often seemed very grateful for the effort.

On a less-serious note, I have some shopping to do this weekend! I have found that my supply of work-appropriate clothes is almost nonexistent (I never worried about this when I was teaching), and now that I will be wearing a suit almost every day as a student attorney for the Harvard Legal Aid Bureau, I’m going to need some new duds! Maybe I’ll showcase my finds on here 🙂

This weekend I have NOTHING planned. Which is a huge change for me. I need to clean my apartment, start getting organized for my move, do some shopping, and exercise. But I get to do this all on my own schedule, without any actual appointments or deadlines. Loves it!

§ One Response to I’m a working girl!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I’m a working girl! at jump the next train.

meta