2 Months!

July 24, 2012 § 1 Comment

Felix was two months old yesterday!

Here are his stats:

Weight: 13 lbs, 94th percentile (CDC)
Length: 23 in, 76th percentile (CDC)
Clothing Size: 3-6 months

Unfortunately, mommy is trying to lose the baby weight so we didn’t make a 2-month birthday cake. And for anyone out there who is reading this who doesn’t have children–yes, every “month birthday” counts as a birthday when you have a baby. It’s just more fun that way!

If I had to choose, I would say the theme of Felix’s second month has been routine. We’ve finally been developing some routines, and it makes mommyhood so much more enjoyable! I think Felix appreciates it too.

We love how much Felix smiles. Since birth Felix has been such a happy, sweet baby. He is so quick to flash a huge grin, especially when mommy comes into his nursery in the morning to wake him up. I cherish those moments when he grins so big at me, happy to see me after a long night of sleep.

Felix also has the “Bouchard half-smile” down pat–his Daddy makes the exact same face!

Felix is getting to be such a little man–he looks so cute sitting up in his Bumbo seat! Of course after we realized he could sit up in this seat, we had to buy the snack tray so he can start playing with his toys in the seat. He doesn’t actually pick much toys yet, but he looks at them and is starting to getting interested!

Felix’s centerfold pose! I just love watching him sleep, it’s almost a shame that we’ve transitioned him to his crib. I’m all for co-sleeping, but Felix actually sleeps much better in a dark, quiet room. He sleeps worse when he’s with me than he does when he’s in his crib!

I love his stretchy poses!

Felix is not a huge fan of tummy time yet, but we’re working on it. He can lift his head a few inches, but doesn’t always try to. He can only stomach tummy time for a few minutes! (Did you see what I did there?)

Felix has so many different faces–this is his inquisitive look! He’s looking up at the toys on his playmat arch.

Likes: bath time, his Lamaze toys, when mommy sings to him, baby massage time, being unswaddled in the morning, and making faces at anyone who wants to play

Dislikes: the ocean, being tired or hungry, when his meal is over (this is a big one–he cries every time!)

Tender moments: Our morning routine–first, around 6:00 am or whenever Felix wakes up, I unswaddle Felix and smile big at him, and he always smiles back and acts so happy to see me. Then I change his diaper and continue to talk and make faces with him. Then we settle into his rocker to feed and then read a book. After that, I take Felix into the kitchen and he sits in his bouncer (he loves to look at the birdies on the mobile) while I pump and drink my coffee. Then Felix gets to play! Play for a 2 month old means laying on his play mat and looking at toys, having mommy read him books, making faces with mommy, and tummy time (I don’t think Felix considers this play though). He also really likes to practice walking–I just hold him under his arms and he practices putting weight on his legs and jumping.

Our goal is to stay awake until 8:00 am for nap time, but Felix usually only makes it until 7:30 or so before he is ready to sleep. Putting Felix down for a nap is easy–I just swaddle him (not always–sometimes he can nap fine without a swaddle, but other times he surprises himself with his arms and wakes himself up), rock him while singing Twinkle Twinkle and You Are My Sunshine, and then set him in his crib when he’s drowsy.

§ One Response to 2 Months!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 2 Months! at jump the next train.

meta